The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper.

"The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper, it’s stated that the Batavia authorities should regulate the dairy market in order to abate the growing price of milk. This proposal is based on the pieces of evidence such as statistics that showed increasing numbers of dairy farmers and rocketing prices of dairy products in the local market. However, before this proposal could be accurately evaluated, the three following questions should be answered.

To begin with, are the prices at the local Excello Food market the same as in other areas of the Batavia? It’s possible that in other food markets the price of milk is significantly lower than in the Excello market. Subsequently, using the price of milk at one local grocery shop and extrapolating it, as the price indicator, on the whole market could lead to pernicious effects. If the above assumption has merit, the excessive regulations on the milk market would be depleting, in their consequences, to farmers.

Furthermore, will the price of milk still be high, when the supply increases? The fundamental law of supply and demand states that when the supply increases and demand is at a constant rate or even decreases the price of the product should decrease in value and vice-versa. Consequently increasing numbers of farmers probably will reflect in the market price of their product, soon. In that case strict regulations of the dairy market would be viewed as an inadequate decision because the market can autonomously regulate itself.

The next question, is the actual numbers of the milk-producing cows increased? In essence do the capacity of milk provided to the consumers inflated the same as the dairy farmer numbers? Perhaps, during the last decade big conglomerates of dairy farmers fractioned into smaller groups, and there was no significant increase in cows. And it was just factiousness of the farmers that indicated growing rates among themselves. If the above assumption has credit, then again fundamental law of the supply/demand regulates the market itself. The supply is at a constant rate, however, demand rocket’s in a recent decade, thus the rising price of milk is a substantiated phenomenon within the modern economic theory and it needs no interference.

In conclusion, the following argument is flawed due to the unwarranted assumptions that it relies on. If the above recommendation can be enhanced with the additional evidence(in the form of a study or research), then it will be feasible to evaluate the propriety of the proposal about the regulation of the Batavian dairy market.