The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author have failed to render the strong evidence for the direct relation between increase in skateboarders and decrease in shoppers in Central Mall. Moreover, the

Increase amount of litter and vandalism have no clear evidences to convince the readers. In addition, the author’s prediction about returning the business to its previously level does not have any supporting evidence to persuasive the readers.

Number of shoppers have decreased does not directly imply that one who used to come for shopping have found skateboarding as a substitute. The skateboarding have attracted many people to the mall, but it does not mean they are the same people who used to do shopping from their mall. They can be kids or couples who have just come for merry-making. Such people are also responsible for increase of litter and vandalism.

Furthermore, the author brings a weak evidence to prove his argument while the belief of store owners cannot convince the readers significantly because they did not have enough information about other factors that might had profound influence on their sales. The big percentage of shoppers who used to come to Central Plaza may not be even interested in skateboarding, and hence they are not the ones who are going to skateboarding instead of shopping. The people who did shopping at Central Plaza may be affected by external conditions like opening of another shopping area in same locality, or increase in prices of products in Mall. Central Plaza may not have satisfied their customers with their quality of products or services. People may have been affected by current economical conditions like found cheaper imported goods, or increase in tax.

The author also failed to illustrate an appropriate conclusion because of two basic reasons. Firstly, generalizing based on weak evidence and secondly prediction in a wrong way without using persuasive evidence to convince the readers. Prediction a trend needs analyzing the certain important measures that the author does not pay attention to them at all. So even if they prohibit skateboarding, they will impact the surge of people to the mall. But at the same time, this will not increase the shoppers.