The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter presents a highly unjustified slippery slope of conclusions based on unhinged assumptions made by the owner at Central Plaza. The pragmatic reasons for the downfall of the commercial hub still remain unreasoned. We shall take a look at the two main premises one by one.

Firstly, the owner of the shop state that there has been a steady decrease of the number of shoppers in the Plaza and on the other hand, popularity of skateboarding has rocketed. Both of these facts fail to balance each other in any way. Perhaps the number of shoppers had decreased because there was a better, more accessible hub built someplace near and Central Plaza merely fell victim of being over-shadowed by its superior counterpart. The rise in popularity of skateboarding may simply be because of a recent inspiring movie that revolved around the handiness & the uber-ness of skateboards that many cyclists or daily commutes simply took upon the skateboard as their recent trend; or there may have been a recent demolition of some skate-park nearby that drove the kids from their native hangout to nearby places.

Second, the writer claims that the amount of litter and vandalism in the plaza has become a rising problem. While one can tag the skateboarding-culture with myriad of graffiti artists and a non-prerogative show of discipline, it is not entirely true and reasonable to stereotype the situation. Instead, the rise in litter can be related to the fact that low attendance at the Plaza would require there to be less maintenance and moreover, less security- hence the vandalism as well. A probable cause could also justify that less attendance stripped the Plaza of maintenance budget.

However, it would benefit the author’s argument if he provided more correlation to situations- like- evidence that show increase in attendance of skateboarders inevitably resulting in less attendance of public due to a non-disciplined environment. It would also add to the author’s conclusion if he could provide necessary information about routines being carried out to ensure the Plaza’s maintenance so that any anomalies can be observed to grasp why Central Plaza tends at being abused.

Consequently, based on the current facts that the owner has provided us with show no correlation as to why prohibiting skateboarding in the plaza will return business to the hub and reduce its misuse; or if it does, it instead solely relies on balance of probability which can only be assured with more concrete evidence and observations currently untended to.