The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

Although there is possibility that the shrinking of shoppers is due to the increasing skateboarders, the author does not offer sufficient evidence to prove it. Thus several questions must be dealt with so that his recommendation can achieve the expected outcome.

First, what the author asserts is that the popularity of skateboarding has increased while the business of Central Plaza declined. But in order to illustrate a convincing relevance between these two elements, the author also has to prove if skateboarders become less, the business will grow otherwise the argumentation will not be complete and logical to support the relevance between skateboarding and number of customers.

Second, to study the effect of skateboarding on the business of Central Plaza, we should exclude any other elements that could also have impact on the plaza’s customer. However, the author offers no background information about the business of the shop owners, making it obscure to determine whether things like the type of goods, the decoration of shops or the qualification of the shop assistants have changed over the past two years. If so, such changes could also be the cause for the losing of customers, and in the opposite, the same case. It is unfair and unreasonable to bluntly blame the business failure on the skateboarders without checking the shortcoming of their own.

Thirdly, the author mentions that more garbage has appeared in Central Plaza during the last two years, suggesting it is the skateboarders who are responsible for this phenomenon. Yet whether this suggestion is true or not needs to be further discussed. According to the passage, the author merely proposes an assumption without stating any proof to support it. This does nothing good to strengthen his argument. To complete this argumentation the author needs to give facts of skateboarders do make more rubbish in the plaza, and the more rubbish there are, the less customers there will be.

Finally, the author proposes to ban skateboarding in Central Plaza, and believes by doing this their business will return to the previous level. Nevertheless, he cannot neglect the possibility that his customers will not come back even if skateboarding is prohibited. After all, the damage caused by skateboarders according to his accusation may not be able to restore. And if so, his proposal will be a waste of time and public resource. Therefore, to rationalize his proposal the author must prove the effectiveness of it, that is, to prove the business will rise again once the skateboarders are cleared up.