The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter the author made multiple claims. The author first attributes the decline of the number of shoppers in Central Plaza to the increasing popularity of skateboarding. Then he argues that the business in Central Plaza will recover if skateboarding is banned in the area. Close scrutiny reveals a number of flaws in the arguments.

The first question the author needs to answer is that is there a direct connection between skateboarding, which is a form of exercise and entertainment, with the business condition in Central Plaza (should I use comma or question mark here? thanks!). The correlation between the two is not conspicuous, nor does the author provide one. It is even possible that the increasing popularity of skateboarding could promote the business in Central Plaza. For example, an increasing number of skateboarders in the plaza could add to the exuberant atmosphere, and thus attracting more visitors or shoppers.

The author then abruptly starts to mention an increased amount of litter and vandalism, without indicating the cause. He could be implying that the skateboarders are to blame, but the correlation is not explicit either. So the question the author needs to investigate is the real cause of the litter and vandalism. Though it could be because of the skateboarders, other factors could also result in more litter and vandalism. For instance, the Plaza may be simply not as well-maintained as before. Or it could be that a group of customers who like to throw trash everywhere have frequented the plaza.

Based on the assumption that the popularity of skateboarding leads to the decline in the number of customers in Central Plaza, the author suggests prohibiting skateboarding in the area will help the business back to its previous high levels. However, even if skateboarding is a cause of the problem, there could more other reasons that have caused the decline. The author needs to find out and evaluate all the reasons, and determine which are the primary ones. If some popular stores move out from the plaza, for example, that would also wreak havoc to the business. Alternatively, it could be that the local economy is undergoing a doldrum. People just have less spare money to spend in the plaza. Therefore, if there are the major issues that have caused the business recession in Central Plaza, banning skateboarding will be futile.

Conclusively, before persuading the city to forbid skateboarding, the author needs to carry out further investigation and know what the connection between skateboarding and business is, what has induced more litter and vandalism, and what the other factors are that also have an impact on the business in Central Plaza.