The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter, one of the store owners in central plaza attributes the decline in the number of shoppers to the increase in skateboarding activities in the plaza. While this may be true, the argument is filled with unsubstantiated assumptions and claims. There are several questions that needs to be answered to ascertain the validity of this claim.

First, the writer states that it was within the past two years that the plaza has witnessed increased skateboarding activities and that since the number of shoppers within the last two years have declined, it effectively implies that the activitie...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.