The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The local newspaper of Masontown printed a letter stating that the residents should recycle more. This will help the town to reduce expenditure on waste disposal. The argument is supported by citing an example of neighboring town that implemented such steps and had seen a decrease in their garbage disposal costs. The town of Hayesworth also passed a law that would fine residents for not recycling their waste. Although propitious on the outside, the proposal is rife of loopholes.

Firstly the garbage disposal fees have been mentioned which will be saved if the proposed plan is followed. But how can the letter claim definite reduction in garbage disposal costs? Without buttressing their claim with statistical data, no conclusive assertions can be made regarding the matter. It might be the case that residents of Masontown do not see worth in the new recycling scheme and hence do not adopt the same. It might also be the case that the task of recycling could be more arduous than waste disposal. And hence the residents would not be willing to do such a task and would be willing to pay the disposal fees.

Secondly Hayesworth has been adduced as the town who achieved success in implementing the recycling scheme. But it has also been mentioned that the said town only passed the law late last year. So it has not been significant time since the law's implementation. How can the newspaper infer from such short time? How can they claim that the same law, if passed in Masontown, will also produce same result? The newspaper has failed to provide empirical evidence that bolsters their claim. They ought to mention the statistics of both the cities regarding waste disposal fees. It might be the case that Hayesworth was town with small population in comparison to Masontown and hence they were successful. But implementing such a law might not procure similar fruitful results in Masontown too.

Thirdly advertising campaign have been proposed to encourage the residents to recycle. Without any statistical data pertaining to the municipal waste disposal fees, it would not be favorable to launch such a campaign. It might be the case that the expenditure of the campaign itself outweighs the waste disposal fees. Also there is no certainty that the residents would acknowledge the campaign and indulge themselves in recycling the waste. Also no guarantees can be made about the success of recycling the waste. It might be the case that residents may now just dump their waste and not pay the disposal fees too. This might lead to dunes of waste in the town which is certainly not salubrious.

Hence nothing conclusively can be said about the acceptance of the new recycling plan. The newspaper ought to provide more empirical and statistical data pertaining to the matter. Only then would they be able to draw the attention of the residents of Masontown. So unless and until the above mentioned loopholes are not addressed properly, the plan will inexorably fail.