The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

As per the letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University, it is stated that as per the studies conducted in the Oceania University, it was revealed that there was a higher retention rate of professors when their faculties were offered free tuition for their own college-aged children. This argument even though may be true to some extent however, implementing similar rules in Seatown University would not necessarily mean the same output as the argument has various flaws which have not been addressed.The argument doesn't cover various dimensions which makes this argument very weak.

Firstly, we are not sure how effective is the study conducted at Oceania University. We are not sure whether this study reflects the solely the opinion of the professors who are inclined to have a free education for their children or all the professors. Because, naturally most parents would try to obtain free good quality education for their children.

Secondly, it cannot be said for certain that faculties of Seatown University are not willing to work because of devoid of free education for their children. It may so happen that most of the faculties working in Seatown University have ambitions to work in better universities or they might be unsatisfied with the current pay. Hence, in this regard providing free education for their children would not help in retaining the faculties in Seatown University because they simply don't alleviate the issues mentioned above.

Moreover, the argument doesn't state anything about the reputation of the Universities, it may so happen that Oceania University has better facilities and better teaching but also charges a significant amount of tuition fee. Hence, the faculties there might be interested to achieve free and better quality of education for their kids. However, this might not be true for Seatown University. It may so happen that quality of teaching is not at par with Oceania University, thus the faculties at Seatown University would not be even inclined to make their kids go to their own university despite they work there. Thus, in this case providing free tuition fee would make negligible difference.

Therefore, it would be absolute foolishness for Seatown University to make changes in their policy as per the studies conducted at nearby university, because the argument doesn't mention anything regarding the applicability of the study on the faculties of Seatown University. It is very much possible that the faculties at Seatown University have a different set of endeavours and thus they would require a different set policies for enhancing their morale and luring them to stay in the university.