The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

The letter received states that there was a study conducted at nearby Oceania university showing that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition fee for their own college-aged children. And requests Seatown University to institute same policy of free-tuition which would enhance morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Author has substantiated its claim of this new policy implementation request with a study in nearby Seatown University. This would certainly enhance the retention rate and attract more professors to the Seatown University. However, author might have overseen other aspects which would also contribute towards higher retention rate. This would include better in-campus sports facility, gym, swimming and hostel accommodation for both faculty and students. Instead of monetary incentives, above mentioned facilities would contribute big time, ensuring enhanced morale among faculty.

Scholarship program will also help faculty to stay back at the job. Author did not mention it in his support. But scholarship will not only have monetary advantages but also in career and students profile. This will ensure that students also do their job of studying well to secure their career adding up competition and more zeal to their goals. Providing free-tuition to faculty children would be an injustice to non faculty students which might be discouraging to them. Hence, author would like to appease for annual bonus as an incentive. Faculty whose children are young also would be eager to join Seatown University.

I feel author has a good point of giving free-tuition as an incentive to the faculty. However, he must consider other aspects which might attract them to retain at the University. I have mentioned couple of ideas which might support my statement and author would like to have a glance to take a proper decision.

Overall, I agree with what author has stated. If giving free-tuition worked in Oceania University same will work in Seatown. In addition or substitution we might have other facilities which would further compel faculty of Oceania University to come and join Seatown University. Again this would make retention rate high.