The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professor for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors. Well, the above conclusion is based on various logical fallacies and assumed facts that needs to be supported by facts in order to make it a valid conclusion.

Formerly, it based on a piece from the letter drafted by the faculty committee to the president of the Seatown university. It is entirely assumed that the faculty committee is an active body of the University and the opinion that is asserted is the opinion of most of the faculty members of the college. Possibly, it is just the opinion of few teachers who have college- aged children, failing to consider that some faculty may not have kids or those who have kids not falling in such a category. If such a policy is passed it would be in a way unfair to the remaining faculty members who put in the same efforts but are not give equal benefits.

Next, the letter is based on a survey conducted at a nearby Oceania University which shows that the faculty retention was higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university. Probably, the faculty who joined the university only with the purpose that their kids future would be assured and hence are more likely to stick to the university which could be the valid reason for a higher retention. It is also possible that the demographics of the faculty members in Seatown university is quite different and the same model that works in another university won't work in Seatown.

As everyone is rightly aware, education is not a cheap affair. With a meager salary of a college professor, a parent may at times not be able to afford college tuition fees of their kids and would regret when their kids are unable to fulfil their dreams only because of financial constraint. Therefore, the argument can be strengthened by modifying the free-tuition policy in such a manner that it stands valid only if the student has proved his/her worth in terms of academics or the field in which one chooses to major in. By doing so it would be unbiased on the part of other students who wish to seek that coveted seat in the college.

On the contrary, the argument can be weakened if majority of the professors who did not have a hand in drafting the letter are of a view that their college-aged children are matured enough to make an informed decision about their careers and which college they would prefer to educate themselves. The professors, as parents stand by the opinion that free-tuition policy would act as crutches to their kids and would prevent them from achieving their dreams and creating a hindrance in making their own decisions. They also fear that their kids would stay in the same protected environment for years together and not be free to take risky decisions in life. The professors also fear that the free-tuition and assured admission to a pristine college would make their kids incompetent in nature as they would lose the thrill to take competitive exams and compete as their friends would do.

In the end, more evidence is needed to reach a cogent conclusion.