The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer recommend that people should do investment in Consolidated Industries, because this company sales home heating oil. However, the argument is unpersuasive because it relies on several questionable assumptions.

First, the author asserts that consumption of home heating oil will increase because northeastern United States traditionally used oil for heating their home. However, this assertion assumes that people in northeastern U.S might be use home heating oil for warming their house as traditionally did. As development of technology, boiler for heating home could use electricity as source of energy. It might be better efficiency. Admittedly, although they use heating oil for warming their house, with the higher efficiency of state of the art boiler might reduce heating oil per heat. As result, in case of low temperature consumption of heating oil can stay stable.

Second, it is assumed that climate forecast prediction is accurate. However, climate is might different year to year, and climate of last year is exceptional case. For example, irregular wind blows from north arctic area to northeastern United States in last year. Even if the last year climate is not anomaly, it is difficult to predict climate, and it is wrong in many case. Only last year data is not enough for accurate prediction, so further observation needed to determine if forecast prediction is correct or not for prudent investment.

Third, the writer assumes that many new homes recently built in this region will cause increased consumption of heating oil. However, not it depends on many factors like how many number of house built, how closely these houses are. For example, if great number of house was built in close distance, there must be warming effect which reduce temperature. Thus, impact of lower climate will be reduced by this warming effect not causing expand consumption of home heating oil.

Finally, the writer assumes that Consolidated Industries is the best company for investment because their major product is heating oil for home. However, there’s no information if Consolidated Industries is the best company. There must be more reason to recommend Consolidated Industries for investment like lowest price, and low cost of transportation because of accessibility and high quality of oil. Without additional consideration of this company, recommendation is not warranted.

In conclusion, further evidence such as heating oil is the only energy source of warming home, how accurate forecast prediction is, the effect of newly built homes and Consolidated Industries is the most appropriate company is required for supporting assumption or a more persuasive argument.