The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument is not cogent for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on an unwarranted assumption that the demand for oil will increase in the future, rendering its main conclusion, that the investment in the companies in the business of sale of home heating oil is justifiable, invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification that the main home heating fuel in the region is oil. The investment advisor contend that most homes use oil as their main heating fuel but does not provide any evidence for the statement. The homes can be heated using new technologies or new sources of energy such as electricity. The argument would have been stronger had it provided any veracious and authentic information about the homes in the vicinity. Any strong statistics of the status of houses and their heating systems would make the argument credible.

Furthermore, the consultant avers that the climate forecasters are definitely true that the cold weather will continue for several years. But the investors cannot depend on cold climate stability because weather changes suddenly and the probability of the prediction accuracy decreases for the longer periods of time. Additionally, global warming which is a worldwide event is an important factor that rejects the idea of cold weather continuity. However, a reliable reference to the reports of meteorology bureau on the weather patterns can strengthen the argument.

Finally, it is mentioned in the letter that the recently constructed houses in the region can cause higher oil demands. Although the new houses require a heating source to be warmed, the argument does not provide any proof that the new houses’ heating systems are based on oil. An important factor in a building construction is the heating and cooling ways. The technological advances have created new methods, such as floor heating and electricity based systems, to moderate the temperature of a building in heating and cooling seasons. Hence, the new houses might have been built using new methods that does not utilize fossil fuels. Had the argument provided evidence that the new houses use oil as their major fuel for heating, it would have been stronger.

To wrap it up, the argument is not tenable because it makes some unwarranted assumptions. It concludes that investing in the business of home heating oil will be profitable because of the increase in the oil demand in the future. Nonetheless, it does not provide veracious documents to support the presumptive growing amount of oil usage.