The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it may be true that investing in heating-related businesses is quite lucrative, the author's arguments are built upon several assumptions and rife with flaws. The validity of these assumptions are vital for the implementation and success of the investment.

To begin with, despite the tradition of using oil to heat in northeastern United States, the author assumes oil is still the major fuel source currently. There is no concrete evidence, however, showing the use of fuel for heating in the area. For example, as electricity is becoming affordable to more people, it is probable that many residents are now switching to electricity for heating. Before these assumptions and many others alike are thoroughly considered, it would be reckless for the firm to make the general conclution that investing in oil-related fields are still profitable.

Additionally, another point in this argument that needs to be viewed with caution is that winters in the region are predicted to be colder than normal in coming years. In fact, it is unadvisable for the firm to accept the climate forecasters unconditionally, assuming that the claims made are accurate. Typically, weather reports can hardly be precise beyond several days, let alone years. What is more, climate change and global warming are making the cilmate more unpredictable and warmer, even in winter.

Last but not least, even if oil will remain the major fuel for heating in the area, it does not necessarily mean that investing in oil-related firms are recommended. This bold assumption is logically flawed, ignoring some of the pertinent problems. For instance, if the oil price slumps, profit would certainly be limited for retailers. On the contrary, the heating devices using oil as energy source may become popular under this circumstance. Therefore, recommending the client to invest in Consolidated Industries is as risky as it is ungrounded.

In sum, finding the trends and demands in the market does falicitate the investment firms. But before drawing any conclusion, it is imperative for the author to consider many related questions, instead of relying on intuitive and unwarranted assumptions.