“The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend. ‘Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty.’

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.”

The homeowner in his letter argues that Adams Realty is superior to Fitch Realty and that if his friend wants to sell his house quickly and at a good price, he should list his house at Adams Realty instead of Fitch Realty. However, his argument is based on numerous assumptions.

First, the homeowner says that Adams Realty is superior to Fitch Realty because it has more number of real estate agents and generates more revenue with greater average home sales. But this criteria may not be enough to prove that Adams Realty is better than Fitch Realty. For example, it may be plausible that Fitch Realty uses some more advanced computational logistics which enables it to work with lesser number of real estate agents and generate more profits overall despite its lesser revenue. In such a case, Fitch Realty is superior to and more efficient than Adams Realty and so he needs more elaborate metrics to prove that Adams Realty is a superior corporation. If his assumption that Adams Realty is superior proves unwarranted, like in the given example, then he may wrongly advise his friend to list his house with an inferior corporation and his friend may not get a good deal that his house deserves.

Second, the homeowner says that selling his house via Fitch Realty ten years ago took took more time in comparison to selling his house via Adams Realty during last year and if his friend wants to sell his house quickly, it should be listed with Adams Realty. However, we should note that ten years is a long time and it is possible that Fitch Realty was slow at that time but since then it has changed its strategy and has significantly improved recently even more than Adams Realty about which the homeowner may not be aware. For his assumption to be valid, he should compare two similar houses sold during the recent times and then draw a conclusion which one is quicker. So if his assumption goes wrong then he may be incorrectly advising his friend and his friend may not be able to sell his home quickly if he lists it with Adams Realty.

Finally, the homeowner believes that if his friend wants to sell his house at a good price, he should go for Adams Realty. Even if we assume his belief that Adams Realty is superior, it is still possible that listing the house at Adams Realty may not get his friend a better deal than Fitch Realty in practice. For instance, it may be possible that Adams Realty has better expertise in the most of the other areas of the town but not in the area where the house is to be sold. Fitch Realty's real estate agents may have more knowledge related to the interested people willing to buy a house in that area at a high price. So even though Adams Realty may be overall better but in the area where the house is located, Fitch Realty may be better at getting the house sold at a good price. If this is the case, the advice of the homeowner may result in his friend not getting a better deal on his house in comparison to what he would have got if he had listed it on Fitch Realty.

Therefore, the homeowner has made several assumptions in his argument that Adams Realty is better than Fitch Realty and that if his friend wants to sell his house quickly and at a good price, he should go for Adams Realty. But he needs to provide more detail to convincingly justify his assumptions because if those assumptions prove unwarranted, his friend may not be able to sell his house quickly and at a good price he deserves.