The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument is flawed for a number of reasons. Firstly, just because Adams Realty has more agents than Fitch, does not mean Adams’ Realty is superior; quantity does not equal quality. Secondly, Adams’ average home sales could be due to an outlier that heavily increased their average over that of Fitch’s. Lastly, the homeowners two different experiences with both companies which could be due to other variables than those influenced by the agencies.

Although Adams has 40 real estate agents compared to Fitch’s 25, Fitch’s agents could have more experience and competence. Even though more numerous than Fitch’s, Adam’s agents --- without proper training and experience--- would be inferior to an agency with decades of knowledge. If the homeowner could prove that Adam’s agents were comparable to that of Fitch’s then it would strengthen the advantage of quantity.

Every homeowner would like to sell their house at a reasonable price. Adam’s attractive home sale average of $168,000 has no merit without consistency between each of their clients. It is very possible that this high average could be the result of many small sales with a few scattered exceedingly large sales giving a higher average than that of the competitor’s. The homeowner should attempt to show consistency throughout all Fitch’s sales giving credibility in their high home sale average.

Finally, the homeowner states that he/she had two distinct experiences with which the speed that the listed home was sold and attributing it to the agency’s ability. When selling homes there are numerous other factors that influence the sale, like the house itself. Location, environment and neighbors are all factors that could heavily change how quickly a sale is made. Other economic factors include the housing market and bank loans. The homeowner needs to provide evidence that the two houses were in similar situations and the only real difference was the agencies he/she used.

If the homeowner wants to make a convincing argument, various factors need to be addressed and both the houses and agencies need to be placed in comparable scenarios.