The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch\'s $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the letter recommends his or her friend to choose Adams Realty to sell the home, citing the number of agents, average price of homes sold and the author\'s own experience. At first glance, the argument seems to be plausible; however, a closer review sheds light on a plethora of assumptions. The validation of these understated assumptions can definitely undermine the argument.

To begin with, the author avers that Adams has 40 real estate agents, whereas Fitch only has 25 part-time agents. By adducing these figures the author assumes that the more agents, the better the service. It is not clear, nonetheless, how these agents serve their customers. For instance, it is possible that agents from Adams deal with several homeowners at the same time, while those from Fitch only serve one customer at a time. If this were the case, although Fitch has fewer agents, they can offer better service compared to Adam.

What is more, another point that need to be viewed with caution is that Adam\'s revenue and average price of home sold are both higher than Fitch\'s. This is questionable because the revenue of a whole company has little relationship with the price of a single house. Arguably, maybe Fitch is better at promoting and saling a certain type of house, which fits well with the author\'s friends, making it a better choice than Adams.

Last but not least, by comparing the time spent to sell a house ten years and one year ago, the author makes a bold assumption that other factors influencing the sales of houses has not changed in years, which is obviously ungrounded. A growing population, the lack of newly-constructed houses, the economic boom in the local area can all be the factors that raise the demand of houses, thus homes can be sold faster. Without investigating these factors and many others alike, the author\'s experience is simply incomparable.

In conclusion, while it may be true that the author\'s friend ought to find a real estate firm that offers good service and is efficient to sell the home, but the recommendation proffered by the author are rife with unanswered or even flawed assumptions. The figures and evidence in the letter might be real, but they simply do not substantiate author\'s arguments. Therefore, the argument should not be considered as valid and reliable until the relevant issues are evaluated.