The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author champions the superiority of one realty firm(Adams Realty) with respect to another(Fitch Realty) on the basis of, the number of agents, last year revenues, and a relative comparison of the frequency of the properties getting sold on each of them, though with a time gap of ten years. She makes two claims regarding the suitability of Adams Realty, first that, one can sell her home quickly, and second, at a good price, in comparison with that using Fitch Realty.

A comparison on the basis of the number of real estate agents in either real estate firms may give an idea of the relative geographic reach and(or) availability of these firms, but it does not strongly corroborates the claim that a property listed with Adams Realty is more likely to be sold than that with the Fitch Realty. Likelihood of such transactions, at any real estate firm, is contingent upon the ability of its real estate agents to lure people into making those deals, which is more of a personal attribute and does not strengthen with the number.

By the very definition of the mean(or average), even a single observation has an associated mean, therefore, citing a relative comparison of the average sales price of the home properties does not bolster the likelihood of getting your home sold quickly with Adams in comparison with Fitch. Even if we assume this average to be over a significant number of residential properties, this fact should have been expounded with the scale of those properties, like the average square feet area, number of bedrooms etc, among other factors. As can be noted that, this piece from the author is an advice to her friend, it should therefore, cite the facts which are germane to the friend, which in this case means, citing quantitative facts for the type of homes her friend may have the predilection to sell, otherwise, this advice may turn out to be potentially misleading.

As noted above in the beginning, the ‘personal’ observation regarding the readiness of the property getting sold with either of the real estate firms are spaced 10 years apart, which may not lend an accurate view of the ‘current’ state of the relative popularity of the Adams Realty over the Fitch Realty. Real estate business is known for its effervescence and evolutionary nature, therefore, comparing personal experiences with either of the firms separated by a period of 10 years can be potentially misleading, if not outright wrong. One cannot rule out the possibility of Fitch owing to its poor sales frequency, as cited by the author, evolved into offering more lucrative deals over the years, and are now, at least as ‘hot’, in terms of their listed properties getting picked, as Adams, if not more.

I would like to submit that the arguments presented by the author as an advice to her friend, lacks impregnability in terms of the soundness of the presented corroborations. Number of real agents in any real estate firm does not correlate with the likelihood of a property getting picked ‘quickly’, and is largely contingent upon the persuasiveness of the individual agents in convincing their clients into buying one. The metric of ‘average’ even holds for one observation(home in our case) by definition, and therefore cannot reliably reflect the chances of getting good price for your property, if not augmented with the information regarding the number of houses over which it is defined. Assuming sanity of such quantitative facts, the author must ensure that they are germane to her friend. Further, the practice of drawing conclusions on the likelihood of a home getting sold, entirely based only on one personal observation and that too, spaced over a period of 10 years, should be avoided, considering the volatile nature of the real estate business.