The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that restrict the use of water flow through showerheads in Sunnyside complex will provide an opportunity for the corporation to accumulate a hoard of money and benefit from this limitation. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which more well-established evidence should be given.

First, the author contends that one month ago the corporation limits the water flow for first three buildings to one-third of what it used to be. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since there is not a sufficient evidence to support if residents will be satisfied in future. One point that should be considered is that these method has been done during last month and maybe not too many people lived there in that time. In fact, the author does not provide any information about population living there and there is the possibility that the company confronts with some complaint in future. Furthermore, what if people decide not to pay for water usage in the response of water flow restriction?

The author also points out that the company will be able to gain a substantial amount of money since they have not to pay each month. Although it might seem tenable at face it has some defects due to the paucity of evidence that would consolidate the premise the otherwise. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that the author just mentions the limitation of water in showerheads. Indeed, there is the possibility that people use water from different sources like washing the dishes, car and other unnecessary consumptions. The limitation of water flow through showerheads may not work properly and maybe brings the protest of residents in those buildings.

Finally, as set forth by the author just a few people complain about the restriction of water flow. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled evidence to support if vast majorities of residents are living in those three buildings. One point that should not go unnoticed is that the author does not show the exact number of the population the complex and we are not sure what percent of the population are living in those three buildings. What if the number of complains rise up after limitation of water flow for rest of the buildings? What if individuals decide to use more water after restriction?

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there is some evidence, having been ignored by the author while the presence of which could add to the logic of each premise.