The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The article stated above is faulty for numerous reasons. Essentially, the author rests the argument on a foundationless assumption that favorable settings for all retirees are identical. Concluding that Clearview should be the top choice for those seeking to retire based on the prior stated assumption is unreasonable.

Firstly, the argument fails to provide evidence to support the similarities between all retirees to exist. To start, it is assumed by the arguer that ones view of natural beauty will be consistent with anothers. Natural beauty for one individual could include greenery while another prefers the desert. If Clearview naturally grows tons of trees and plants, the resident that favors a drier looking environment may not see this city to be spectacularly beautiful. Moreover, the author does not state the type of consistent climate Clearview has. It is possible that this city has a tropical and humid climate. But if one is more inclined to enjoy rainy and wet weather, then this area will not be of interest to them. By assuming that all residents have the similar preferences and not considering the diversity that is extant in preferences of people, the argument is unjustified. On the other hand, if the article specified the type of climate and beauty that Clearview encompasses, it would make the argument more plausible. In either case, the author would continue to presume that all retirees favor the same environments.

Going forward, the author neglects to address other issues presented. Imagine, there is a credible method to assume all citizens have the similar likings, it is still baseless to conclude that Clearview should be a top choice for retirement living. So, the argument continues to ignore other factors that could influence the decisions of older residents. Take into account the low cost of living in Clearview. It could be possible that there is an incline in gang-related activity in that area, making the area increasingly unsafe. This distinguishing factor could be the reason of fallen housing costs. Even supposing the city of Clearview is completely safe, the author cannot completely guarantee excellent healthcare for the retirees. There is a possibility that a majority of the physicians in that are pediatricians. Meaning, these doctors are unable to fully care for older citizens. This would render the assumption of excellent healthcare as illogical. However, if the author shed light on the types of physicians subsumed in the area, the argument would be strengthened. But it would still fail to consider other factors that could be the reason of low housing costs.

Lastly, the article is built upon undescriptive statements. For example, the author states “Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services.” Though there are services that are looking to be improved by the city, it is not clear what services will actually apply to the older individuals. If the city builds new skateparks, this will definitely not benefit the retired community. This would further undermine the argument.

As a result of the various unwarranted presumptions made by the argument, the author fails to compile a compelling case to prove that all retirees will indeed favor Clearview.