The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil."Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for he

In the given memo, it is claimed that there will be an increased demand for heating oil for next five years. The increase in demand is because of prediction of below-normal temperature in coming years and increase in the new house in the northeastern United States. However, various evidence has to be evaluated.

At first, the author assumes it is popular heating oil service or only one heating oil delivery service and also shares large portion sales of heating oil, in the northeastern United States. However, an author does not provide any evidence of it. Other oil service company may be popular in that area and most citizens may want to prefer to obtain service from other company because of discount, good delivery service. If this is the case, then the company sale will be static in the following years. Thus, the author should give their reputation status and other adversary company information to make the given argument reasonable.

The author does not give do not provide any evidence about the number of days in which the temperature is below the normal of the past years. If during the past decade the total number of exceptional days is around 85, then the increase of frigid temperature up to 90 days would make such impact in the sale of the heating oil. The author should give the evidence about the past status of the aberrantly cold days in that area to support the argument.

The author does not provide the evidence of how the increase in the house would lead to increase into a sale of heating oil. In the present days, there are other ways to make the house warm without the need for heating oil. The modern house is well insulated, making the house warmer for a sustainable period or the new house can be equipped with the electric heater to warm the house because electricity is cheaper than oil. If the author has given the evidence that the new house is similar to the old house which depends upon fuel and no other alternative source of heat, then the argument given would be supported.

Thus, in the given argument various evidence have to be assessed to make the argument reasonable. The evaluation status of the company and other competitors, information about the extremely glacial days in past and use of another source of energy along with a design of a new house is required to make the argument sound and safe.