The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"Our citizens are well aware of the fact that while the Grandview Symphony Orchestra was struggling to succeed, our city government promised annual funding to help support its programs. Last year, however, private contributions to the symphony increased by 200 percent, and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series doubled. The symphony has also announced an increase in ticket prices for next year. Such developments indicate that the symphony can now succeed without funding from city government and we can eliminate that expense from next year's budget. Therefore, we recommend that the city of Grandview eliminate its funding for the Grandview Symphony from next year's budget. By doing so, we can prevent a city budget deficit without threatening the success of the symphony."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The budget planner desires to avoid a budget deficit to the city by ending the city’s financial support of the symphony. While budget deficits are a legitimate concern, the planner’s line of reasoning has several glaring deficiencies. The planner’s premise that the symphony is no longer in a precarious financial situation leads him or her into some faulty assumptions regarding the continuing fruitfulness of private contributions and ticket revenue. The planner needs to further investigate the symphony’s financial picture in order to strengthen the argument.

The primary fault with the planner’s implications is his or her basing all decisions on the premise that the symphony’s budget is no longer problematic. There is simply not enough evidence given to support the idea that the symphony’s budget is rock solid. The city budget planner does not mention any evidence from the symphony’s budget that would indicate its solvency. In fact, the aforementioned increase in ticket price indicates the opposite—perhaps the symphony needs to generate more revenue, and is attempting to do this through ticket sales.

The secondary fault lies with the unwarranted assumption that the recent revenue will continue. No information is given about the private contributions—are these one-time gifts, or annual pledges? Not enough information is available about the private contributions to make a determination. The increased ticket price is a conundrum. Will the increase in price generate more revenue from loyal symphony attendees? Or will the higher price put enjoyment of the arts out of reach of all but the most affluent city residents? Hopefully the symphony has done its own due diligence in this regard, but the city planner certainly hasn’t. He or she offers no information regarding forecasted private contributions or ticket price revenue. While certainly convenient arguments, the planner has not supported the implication that revenue will continue.

The planner may have a point—when budgets are tight, nonessentials such as the fine arts need to be cut. However, he makes a poor case for abandoning funding of the symphony. His assertion is that the symphony has enough other income sources. Unfortunately, there is not enough evidence given to show that private donations and ticket sales will keep the symphony afloat. We don’t know if the private donations are ongoing or one-time, and it is too soon to tell if the increased ticket prices will provide the revenue needed to make up the symphony’s deficit if they continue to contribute. The budget planner needs make a stronger case by gathering data regarding income, expenses, and financial reserves for the symphony in order to see if they can be self-sustaining before making the argument that the city can cease funding based on the symphony’s newfound financial solvency.

The budget planner has a tough call to make. Such decisions are more accepted by the public if a strong case can be made

for the outcome. However, this budget planner needs to delve into the issue more deeply to find out the true impact on the symphony before cutting them from the city budget. Evidence of significant ongoing private contributions, as well as preliminary ticket sale data, would buttress support for the planner’s decision to cut funding.