The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

My assessment on this argument indicates that it seems plausible, but actually is not well reasoned. The author tries to emphasize the importance by citing the current trends of increasing enrollment, predicting the doubled enrollments and referring to the recently growing apartment rent. However, the director wrongly uses those evidences.

First of all, the director points out that the enrollment has growing trends currently, thus infer that the enrolled students will double over the next 50 years. To say the least, whereas, this number is ridiculous since it is not substantiated by any scientific calculations. Moreover, the author acquiesces that the current trends will last for at least 50 years. Could this be true? No evidence is shown to provide support for this. It is not hard to imagine the possibility that in few years before the new dormitories are built up, the enrollment decreases again for various reasons such as declining education quality. In this situation, the newly built dormitories would be of no avail. Hence, in order to strengthen his stand, it is advisable to do some detailed research to make clearer how’s the enrollment tend to change in the long term.

Secondly, by referring to the risen apartment rent, the director means to emphasize the competitiveness the college will gain if building new dormitories. However, as is mentioned, the average rent merely rose in recent years, showing no evidence that it will continuously go up in the long run. What if the rent decreases again possibly due to a sudden decline in residents caused by emigration? Besides, the average rent suffers from a lack of precise rent information around the Buckingham College, since it could be true that the rent in the college’s neighborhood remains steady even though the average rent in the town increases.

Finally, in reference to the director’s aim to attract more students, plenty of important factors which are beneficial for the college are left out. Those factors might be to hire more educated professors, to renovate its library and to introduce more interesting courses. For instance, perhaps the students care more about how well would they be educated, thus to offer a higher salary to attract eminent professors may help the college gain more edges than just extend the dormitories. In a word, it is undesirable merely limiting the attention on the housing affairs.

To sum up, the author’s claim is not irreproachable because the reasoning is undermined by the flaws of unverified prediction, wrong data utilization and incomplete consideration of the factors which could be beneficial for the college.