The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

There are several questions that need to be answered before a sound decision can be made on whether or not to increase the number of new dormitories at Buckingham College.

The author states that the enrollment at Buckingham College is growing, but fails to state why. Knowing why the enrollment at Buckingham College is growing is critical to having confidence in extrapolating the current growth trend into the future. For example, attendance at Buckingham could be growing because the college temporarily decreased tuition. If the college intends to raise tuition in the coming years and into the future, it would be illogical to view the short-term boost in attendance as an indication of long-term growth of the studentry. Alternatively, the increase in attendance could be due to recent changes in the objectives of the administration, wherein there is a new long-term goal to launch a concerted effort of increasing the size of the student body over the next 50 years by five fold. In either case, more information needs to be provided to qualify the recent gains in attendance as valid indicators of future student body growth.

Furthermore, the argument also makes the vague assertion that “the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years.” Even if we assume that the average rent will only continue to increase in the future, combined with the next line of reasoning: “consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing” the reader is left wanting the answer to many more questions. How much has the rent increased? Has the rent increased by 1%, 5%, 50%? Why has the rent increased? Is Buckingham College a commuter school, or do many of the students live on campus? For the students that live on campus, is the increase in rent a strong deterrent to attending the college? How many prospective students even know about the cost of rent in the town where Buckingham College resides, and does this affect their decision to attend the college? Because no information is provided about any of the factors linking increased housing costs to student enrollment at Buckingham, no conclusions can be drawn.

The last line of “logic” that the statement drafts “attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll” truly deserves a survey in order to be taken seriously. From the information provided, it would appear the that the author is assuming that nice dormitories equals more student enrollment. If Buckingham College prospective students do not care about their dormitories, but rather, care more about the quality of the school cafeteria, perhaps Buckingham College should allocate their funds to food instead. Again, it could also be that many students commute to Buckingham, and therefore do not care about the dorms. In any case, a survey could answer these questions, and would provide better evidence.

The author would do better by answering any of the several questions his or her statement begs before any such a financial decision is made.