The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument purportedly asserts that building new dormitories in order to fulfill students' needs will attract majorities of students in near future at Buckingham. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which more well-established evidence should be given.

First, the author of the argument contends that the registration at Buckingham is on the rise and will be twice in next 50 years. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since, there is no sufficient evidence to support if students are really interested in continue their education at Buckingham. One point that should be considered is that maybe prospective students prefer to reach tertiary education in other universities or perhaps enrollment experience a fluctuation in near future. In this case, building too many dormitories will be sheer waste of money. It's also important to say that there is no statistics or information to show that in what extent students' population increase in next 50 years.

The author also attributes that students are not able to rent an apartment in off-campus due to the fact that rent of the houses has increased in recent years. Although it might seem tenable at face, it has some detects since due to the paucity of evidence to show if all apartment in the town has risen their rent. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that there are majorities of apartment in different forms and shapes or even luxury houses in every city, which located in especial part of the town and students could not afford to rent them due to the fact that they might be in a tight budget. In fact, there might be an apartments with lower price in various part of the city that students could rent off-campus. Alongside that, there is not information to show to the extent the rent of the houses has increased. Maybe it is inconsiderable to take it into consideration.

Finally, as set forth by the author Buckingham College should build new dormitories in order to fulfill students' housing needs. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to inadequate evidence to support if building new apartment on-campus is beneficial for students. One point that should not go unnoticed is that there are crowds of items in a university that need to be updated such as laboratory. Indeed, maybe one or two apartment complex serve students' housing needs and building more houses might be sheer waste of money. Moreover, the author does not mentioned any information about population of students in Buckingham to show that whether they need more dormitories or not.

Having scrutinized the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there is some evidence while the presence of which could add to the logic of each premise.