The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Buckingham College makes various reasons to build a new dormitory for the campus;however, the need for increasing the number of new dormitories requires more in depth analysis of the suggested and flawed arguments.

The memo argues that Buckingham College will double over the next 50 years based on the current trends; hence, the College should build the new dormitories to accommodate the future prospective students. Although Buckingham is preparing well-ahead for the future demands of housing for the College, the College should not simply jump into the conclusion that a new dormitory needs to be built. There are implications for building a new dormitory based on current trends because we cannot accurately predict the future of the College's enrollment. Today, the student body may be demanding for housing on campus, but over the next 50 years may be a different situation and scenario. The College needs to take into consideration the possibility of decreased enrollment and who will account for the empty dorm rooms then. What does Buckingham decide to do when there are vacant rooms in the dormitory? How will the College finance the new dormitory? All these are questions that the College will need to deeply inspect and probe before making the final decision.

In addition to the future projection of the student enrollment, Buckingham College is aware of the rising average rent in the college town that will make the student's difficult to live off-campus. However, to assume that the students cannot afford to pay off-campus is an overstatement. Some students who are financially stable and able to pay the increasing rent price may prefer off-campus over on-campus housing. The price of rent should not be the sole reason for building the new dormitory. Although the new dormitory is readily available for the student, the student may prefer to live off-campus who prefer to live a distant mile from the university campus. In addition, the students may have a family living together rather than a single person. As a result, the chance of living in an apartment will be greater than living in a college dormitory. The College should take into consideration different circumstances for the students whether or not building a number of new dormitories provide the answer to serving the housing needs of the students.

Moreover, the author assumes that the attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham. The prospectives students will consider various aspects of the College before deciding to enroll. The students will be paying for their academic and social lives on campus. Simply assuming that the dormitory is the only reason for the enrollment overlooks the other factors that impact the student's decision to attend Buckingham. The professors, the staff, location, and alumni network are part of the holistic package the prospective takes into consideration before enrolling. Hence, Buckingham needs to focus on beyond dormitory to make the assumption that the enrollment will be based on housing for the student.

To conclude, Buckingham College make various assumptions of building new dormitories. The increasing student enrollment may not last in the future. The current trend is only an indication of the now, but does not accurately fortell its future enrollment. The rising average rent in the town is another assumption when deciding to build the new dormitory for the student may have undesirable consequences for the College as students may prefer to live off-campus than on-campus. Lastly, the prospective student examines the whole College's atmosphere and learning environment before deciding to enroll at the College, not simply by the attractiveness of the new dormitory.