The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrolment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enrol at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Student housing Director of Buckingham College come up with analysis about the housing priorities which need to be done to accommodate the students properly. The notion of the director is valid and his/her point on increasing the dormitory space and making the dormitory attractive to make the students of Buckingham to enrol in the campus. But the memo stated that the dormitory seems to be costly and student cannot afford it. Also in the memo it has been mentioned that the director is looking only the prospective students who can enrol. This rises fews questions in the argument and also about the analysis which provides no ground for the increasing student count.

Firstly, the memo states that in 50 years there is a possibility for the student count to rise, which in turn results in accommodation issues. But the director's statement has no clear information about the students count or no evidence has been provided. Since the problem is not clear among the management, the college or the director has to involve them in finding out the problem, Is there any issues with the current dormitory, how students have enrolled, is there any feedback collected from the students about the dormitory and other sanity issues. Since the college requires to increase the enrolment by building new dormitory, they have to consider whether to existing dormitories are filled up.

Secondly, current enrolment of the students in the college and analysis about day scholar's count and students who is in need of hostels has to be done. Past year information about the college and whether the enrolment curve has gone up or down, since the college states increasing the dormitory is the only solution to accommodate this future issues, they have to also think about the consequences, even after increasing the dormitories whether a student will enrol in the housing system or not is a huge question.

Since the statement clearly states that the dormitory is not quiet affordable for the students, fees in the housing system, current students who have enrolled in the system, has to be analysed in terms of cost and other benefits which is being provided currently. If there are any existing issues which has to be solved, the management has to solve that, before getting into building any new dormitory.

In conclusion, director's thought about building new dormitory for the students is appreciable. If they properly analyse the current problems and also address the affordability issues of the students, then they are good with the existing plan. After the proper analysis, if there is no problem in the system, then the accommodation issues has to be settled in order to satisfy the future number of students.