The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrolment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director of housing is recommending to increase the number of dormitories keeping in mind the future growth of the college. But the suggestion is likely to be accepted only with the presence of concrete evidence supporting the claim.

Initially, the college should have provided with certain reports or the documented records indicating the growth of enrollment. Without any figures relating to it, the statement sounds vague. If the authority would have provided with statistics like the ratio of students with dormitory and its change over the upcoming years, then it would have created a substantial base for their argument.

Moreover, the trend over the next 50 years cannot be completely relied upon. There is a high probability that the circumstances may drastically change in those years. It may be due to upcoming new institutions in and around the area, shifting of educational preferences of students around the region, etc. Such case should be preferably avoided in order to strengthen the case.

Along with it, the director has stated that the average rent in the area has increased without stating any solid reasons to support the claim. There is no history or any future endeavors to justify the case. The rent does not necessarily incline the students to opt for on campus accommodation. At the same time, the students may choose to stay away from the dormitories due to its stricter rules, inefficient administration, etc. As far as the affordability is concerned, the students have the opportunity to do any kind of internship or odd jobs which will help them sustain in rented apartments. Also, there is no mention of how affordable the on campus accommodation may prove as compared to off campus.

In the end, the board is feeling that the new dormitories will attract higher enrollment in college. This is a pure assumption without any credibility. Students look for more than infrastructure while choosing a university. Though the infrastructure may lure them, at the same time they are wise enough to know their preferences. The quality of education does matter at any point of time. With the emergence of newer universities, Buckingham College will require more than infrastructure on their side.