The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this passage, the author recommends Buckingham College to build up new dormitories, because many factors contribute to its increasing requirement of new domicles for future students. To support his/her claim, the author cites increasing enrollment number of students for reference. Furthermore, inadequacy of off-campus housing is also quoted in his/her memo. Additionally, new dormitories are also illustrated as a main reason to attract new students. Quite reasonable though such recommendation appears at first glance, a closer scrutiny reveals that the conclusion lacks crucial supports and therefore we should consider more evidence to help evaluate such conclusion.

To start off, we need evidence to verify if predicted upsurging enrollment of students would definitely lead to demand of new dormitories. While it is shown that enrollment seems to keep robust up-growing trend, no evidence serves to rule out the probability that such trend would continue in a long run, or other factors, such as graduation rate could ameliorate such pressure. Thus, additional evidence gains great significance to determine whether it could ineluctably lead to urgent demands for new dormities without any other choices. If new information shows that this college already reach pinnacle of their capacity for further enrollment or more students would graduate from the school to evacuate from original dormitories, it is reasonably safe to claim that new dormitories are unnecessary and his/her claim will be weakened. On the contrary, if new evidence discloses that statements in the memo keep true and no other factors could help improve such situation, his/her claim will be strengthened.

Furthermore, we need more evidence to ascertain whether students could confronted insolved problem to find apartment off-campus. First of all, while rent increase of apartment seems promising, we don't exactly understand whether majority of incoming students could afford such rents or not. If they possess sufficient finanical pratronization, the statement about their difficulties to find sutiable apartment is in great doubt and his/her claim will be rendered much less advisable. Second, we need to know whether they are able to choose remote apartment and take traffic to the campus. If it turns out that the traffic around the college is excellent, which could fully support them to traverse between the place that they rent and university, we are unconvince about adding investment for new dorimorities would be a wise decision.

Last but not least, even if all of facts mentioned above prove valid, a more accurate evaluation of the author's recommendation requires further analysis. Thus, additional evidence is needed to decide whether attractive dormitories could really play a signficant roles to grasp with new recurtment; that is to say, whether prospective or talented students would take better dormitories as the major factors, which determine their ultimate choice for school. If the answer is positive, his/her claim will be strengthened. On the contrary, if students give priority to experienced teachers, research milieu, job availability rather than hardware setting of the university, we are reluctant to believe that such investment could actually fit for original estimation for more enrollment.

In summary, the evidence cited by the author in the argument could not provide sufficiently conclusive information to make his/her claim compelling. As a result, we need more evidence to help evaluate such conclusion.