The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument is based on major assumptions with wanting evidence, as it claims the need of building new dormitories with the increased rate of enrollment the college is experiencing without providing an insight in to what is the capacity of the current on-campus residence?, are the students who are joining the college intrested in staying in the college’s hostels. Moreover the argument claims a 100% increase in student population at Buckingham college without stating any evidence to support this estimation. Also, the writter terms new dormitories as a student attraction without any justification.

The first concern that arises after reading the argument is that what is the current occupancy status of the already preasant college dormitories?, How many people they can accommodate?, how many people are currently residing in them. It may be a posibility that the current residency might be sufficent for accomodating the estimated increase in population. Thus the writer should have negated any such posibilities by providing evidence of current capacity to be less than the expected intake of the tentative college hostels.

Next we see that the wiriter assumes an increase in enrollment tantamount to an increase in prospective hostelites. This may be true but can be chalenged as there exists the posibilty of students who are joining may have no intrest in on campus dormitories. Furthermore it might be the case that the students who have their home near the college, be the majoity of those joining it. Thus the writer should have made it clear that and adequate number of students who are joining the college will wish reside at the on-campus residence too.

Lastly the writer states that in a time of 50 years the population of the college will double with providing any substantial evidence for this estimation. The veracity of this claim depends upon what basis has this tentative increase in population determined. Thus the author should have explained in detail who does he suggests such large change in population of the college.

Thus we conclude that argument is lacking evidence to support it’s key assumptions and thus can be termed flawed.