The following appeared in a memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview: " In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for the plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer a significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing." Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based on are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answer to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Mayor of the city of Hillview in his shared memo, states a few reasons as to why he wants to invite and help to develop automobile manufacturing plant. Few reasons he states and hence believes because of those reasons automobile plant much be set up, are: (i)There has been serious unemployment problem in the town, (ii)The hillview landfill has been undeveloped for decades and is a perfect site for plant, and (iii)It will provide employment to thousands of the residents of Hillview city. This memo has few flaws which I would like to discuss below and hence I believe the reasons stated are not enough for City Council to straight away authorize the request made.

Firstly, the Mayor states that the Hillview landfill has been undeveloped for a long time and it is perfect site for the automobile manufacturing plant of Autotech. But, there is no other comparison made with any other kind of company who could also build their plant in the landfill. There may be other companies willing to build their plants in those area. Moreover, there may be companies who are much larger and may generate much more profit and employment than Autotech. The Mayor must make a comparison with other companies in order to make the City Council believe that Autotech is the best option available and must invited to build their plant in the city.

Secondly, the Mayor states setting up Autotech's automobile plant in the town will give employment to the residents of the town who have been unemployed since a computer software company abandoned its facility last year. How did Mayor conclude the residents who were working for a computer software based company would be a proper fit for an automobile company? Is there any guarantee that the automobile company will hire only the city residents as their employees? Are the residents willing to work for automobile company? Apart from the following questions arising in the mind, what is the city's benefit in setting up such large automobile company? These are a few questions that must have solid answers.

According to me, the reasons stated by Mayor are not enough for City Council to grant authorization unless the Mayor has solid reasons backed by a proper survey carried out for different constraints. The reasons stated must also be enough to convince the City Council that setting up the plant will benefit the city and it's residents on a major scale.

Therefore, I do not agree to grant the authorization requested by the Mayor based on the reasons stated in the memo.