The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Alta Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Alta Manufacturing had thirty percent more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts believe that a significant contributing factor in many accidents is fatigue caused by sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Alta, we recommend shortening each of our three work shifts by one hour. If we do this, our employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo has presented the threshold reason, which is fatigue, explained by experts to recommend that shorter work time should be imposed in order to lower the accident rate of Alta Manufacturing. The claim seems to be eloquent at first glance, but after close scrutiny, it reveals some logical flaws.

To begin with, the data regarding the on-the-job accidents only exudes the situation last year and it doesn’t articulate the conditions in the past three or five years, which can draw a more persuasive conclusion that working in Alta Manufacturing is much more dangerous than working in other firms. Without such information, the higher accident rate last year may just be an exceptional situation. Thus, the decision of cutting down each work shift’s time is untenable and need to be reconsidered.

Moreover, the conclusion given by the experts is also refutable. We all know that many manufacturing factories have sophisticated machines which need professional skills and knowledge to operate. It is entirely possible that the frequently happened accidents are because of the incompetent qualification of workers. Therefore, unless the experts figure out concrete evidence that fatigue is the most likely reason to result in the high accident rate, I will not be convinced by the mere conclusion made by them.

Finally, even if fatigue is the culprit to cause more manufacturing accidents, reducing working time will not guarantee the workers have sufficient sleep at night. Less working time means workers can have more leisure time which they are more likely to spend in entertainment, such as watching movies and tame TV shows, instead of getting to bed early. Therefore, the less working time may even lead to the less sleeping time, as they sometimes are addicted with the TV programs. By contrast, if they continue to work for regular hours, they can maintain a healthy lifestyle to have adequate amounts of sleep, because they are too tired to conduct other recreational activities after a day’s work.

In sum, to bolster the claim that reducing working time will lower the accident rate, the vice president need to work out more investigations regarding the accident rate in a longer period and specific causes that result the higher accident rate. In this way, it will make the decision of shortening working time more reasonable.