The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country. "The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked with a number of dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 40, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition. In a demonstration of their continuing commitment to quality, Appian Roadways recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery and hired a new quality-control manager. Therefore, I recommend hiring Appian Roadways to construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls. I predict that our Appian access roads will not have to be repaired for at least four years."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Vice presidents of a company that builds shopping malls is showing the reason why the Appian Roadways are more efficient to construct the roadways around shopping mall. It is logically tenable at first glance, but when it goes in detail, it has some deflects and defects that assert the argument more plausible to apprehend.

The question should be answered is how many cars utilizing highways between Route 101 and Route 40. In other words, there should be comparison between car using highways. For example, 100 cars per day are using Route 40, but about 10,000 cars are using Route 101 Utilization of Route 101 highway is about 100 times of Route 40, which deflects the argument. Moreover, if this is true, then Good Intentions Roadways are probably more valuable than Appian Roadways. Thus, it should be recommended as utilization of Route 40 and Route 101 are the same, then Appian Roadways are valuable.

Also, question should be answered is how efficient does new state-of-the-art paving machinery. Recently, Appian Roadways just bought new machines. It is dubious that this new paving machinery would work the same way as the old paving machinery did. Because if it is new, workers should start to know how to access. Also, the length of the time that people are accustomed to use the new paving machinery would be another situation that would affect aspects of vice presidents. So if new state-of-the-art paving machinery is proficient as similar as old paving machinery, then it wouldn’t be a problem.

Lastly, the question should be answered is how dexterous and proficient of new hired quality manager. It is originally similar as second view. Basically, Appian Roadways is trying to continue better commitment of quality. However, new hired quality manager may not know how to use either old paving machinery or new paving machinery. So the recommendation of this is new hired quality manager would know how to use paving machinery and does the same process as proficient quality manager did.