The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two different regions. The buildings were erected by two different construction companies—Alpha and Zeta. Even though the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build, and its expenses for maintenance last year were twice those of the building constructed by Alpha. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been higher than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data, plus the fact that Alpha has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, indicate that we should use Alpha rather than Zeta for our contemplated new building project."

The author states here that for contemplated new building project they should use building Alpha over Zeta. The argument is fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To justify this, author reasons that Zeta buildings have higher maintenance and higher energy consumption over Alpha building. However, careful scrutiny of evidence reveals that it provide little credible support for the author's justification. Hence, this argument is considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, author readily assumes that two building has identical floor plan so the cost of making should be equal. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, it could happened that both building have different type of design and building structure. And it could also happen that both the buildings are in different region for that in construction of both the building there can different cost of men, material and power. Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if it explicitly stated with clear evidence about construction of buildings.

Moreover, author states here that maintenance cost of building and energy consumption of building is both higher than the other one. This again is a weak and unsupported claim and it do not clearly clarifies the correlation between the maintenance and energy consumption should be equal for same floor area. To illustrate it further, there can be possible that in both different region there are different energy rate and it could also possible that there are different maintenance required according to its uses. Hence, if argument would have given the before mentioned doubts answers, it would have been much more convincing to reader.

Finally, it states that Alpha has stable workforce and little employee turnover it should use the alpha building. However, careful scrutiny of evidence reveals that it provide little support for author's conclusion on several key aspects, and raises skeptical questions. For example, How it can be more suitable for work because of stable workforce; and what are the details of the work? and if it could accommodate required staff for new building project. Without convincing answer to these questions, the argument is incomplete.

In conclusion, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, author must provide clear concrete evidence , perhaps by means of detailed analysis of comparison between two buildings. To evaluate it further author must give more clear information about the contemplated work and their requirements.