The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies—Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

A vice president of a company recommends from a memo that the company have to work with Zeta construction company in launching new building project. His assertion is based on several claims that when the company ordered two construction company-Alpha and Zeta- on two identical building projects respectively, Zeta company's saving in maintenance cost was better than Alpha and Zeta has more stable employment condition. However, his reasons for supporting Zeta company have to be answered for several fallacies they involve.

First, the president mainly argues that the total saving cost for maintenance is much more beneficial in Zeta's building in spite of investing 30% of more cost in construction. However, this cannot be support the author's argument when the money for exceeding construction fee-30%- is far extraorbitant than the sum of annual savings from maintenance cost and electricity. Only if the saving cost is analyzed to exceed the initial investment of construction, his assertion can be warranted.

Second, he specifies the identical characteristics of two buildings built by Alpha and Zeta but fails to consider the environment around the buildings which might lead to different amount of money spent on maintenance or electricity. For instance, Alpha's building is located in humid and hot climate zone while the Zeta's building is in temperate climate zone, money spent on electricity cannot be compared in same condition. Without doubt, Alpha's building have to run huge amount of energy in order to cool down the temperature using air conditioner and hire more engineers for maintenance of the building. Therefore, the president have to be aware of discrete condition of two buildings rather ascribing the cost for maintenance or energy to the building company.

Third, the president adds another reason for supporting Zeta for new building describing the stable working condition of employees. He claims that workforce in Zeta shows little employee turnover. It is unclear why the president prefers to support little turnover rate since it cannot deliver any information regarding the company itself. Presumably, moral responsibility for employees, well-trained employees with seasoned knowledge can be reasons behind his claim. However, when Alpha hires more knowledgable and more skilled employees, Alpha can be more competitive in construction field in spite of high turnover rate. Therefore, preferring Zeta in terms of little turnover and deciding the company as stable is flawed.

In conclusion, the president's assertion that Zeta is preferrable than Alpha company for bidding in new building construction cannot be logically cogent. He should describe more information regarding his assertion to fully persuade other people involved in bidding procedure.