The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies—Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

The Vice President of a highly diversified company argues that the new bulding project should be given to Zeta company based on the assumption that the building erected by Zeta company had less maintenance cost last year and it consumes lesser energy as compared to the building erected by Alpha company. This argument is based on several assumptions and it does not provide concrete evidence to convince the readers.

First of all, the author states that despite of the identical floor plans, Zeta company charged 30 percent more than Alpha company and later argued that the building erected by Zeta company has lower maintenance cost and power consumption than that erected by Alpha company. The author implicitly states that Zeta company charged more for construction of building but provided better results than that provided by Alpha company. But it is a baseless assumption as the author assumed that two buildings having same floor plan costs equal. But this is not true, two buildings having same floor plan can have differences in the quality of materials used in construction, the interior and furnishing of building, etc. Hence, the author's assumption that Zeta charged more to provide with more economic facilities is not true.

Furthermore, the author claimed that the building erected by Zeta had low maintenance last year than the building erected by Alpha. But he did not mention the maintenance cost records of earlier years. It is possible that the maintenace of Alpha building was low as compared to Zeta's in the previous years. Hence, the author did not provide sufficient data to support his argument. Moreover, the maintenance costs are dependent on the systems and machines used in the buildings. It is possible that Alpha building consists of machines that run for longer periods and requires more maintenance. Hence, the author needs to specify the type of systems and machines used in both the buildings.

Meanwhile, talking about the energy consumption in both the buildings, the author argued that since the erection of both buildings, the energy consumption in Zeta building is low as compared to Alpha building. This assumption is based on the fact that the machines and systems running in both the buildings are similar. But the author did not provide any evidence to support this fact. It is possible that the Alpha building consists of machines that consume high energy. Hence, this assumption does not provide concrete ground to support it. Alongside, the author states that Zeta has a stable workforce and a little employe turnover. As after several years, it is inappropriate to assume that the workforce of Zeta will be as stable as it was before.

Summing up my ideas mentioned in the preceeding paragraphs, I conclude that the argument given by the author is illogical and it is based on numerous assumptions without solid grounds to support them. Hence, it would be necessary to gather more information about buildings to take a clear decision.