The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep." Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the statement above believes that with the shorter shifts of work, accidents might become fewer than now. The conclusion is made by the comparison between the nearby industry and the Quiot industry. The first one has lesser on-the-job accidents with shorter work shifts than the latter. The conclusion is based on several assumptions with potentially being unwarranted makes this statement untenable.

First, the author believes that the two industries are comparable. The number of the workers, the machines used to work, the task the workers have, all are assumed as the same. Robots might work the dangerous work in the nearby industry while human workers are required to do dangerous work in Quiot plant. With each of the mentioned factors been different, the comparison fails to be valid.

Furthermore, even if the two industries are significantly resembling each other, the second assumption is that the lesser amount of accident is totally due to the lesser hours of work assigned in each shift. The nearby industry might have used other alternatives precluding such accidents to happen. It might have provided more safety instruments for its workers. Or workers might have passed the safety classes and are much more aware of how to avoid any danger. Without ruling out such alternatives, the assumption would be weak.

Thirdly, the author assumes that no other factor exists in Quiot Industry making grounds for such happenings. There might be a nearby bar and drinking alcohol might be the reason that the workers become absentminded In taking care of themselves. Moreover, the lighting system might not be enough that workers see properly things and then accidents happen.

Finally, the author assumes that the lesser amount of work shifts will directly improve the sleep patterns of the workers. Even if the fatigue and sleep patterns might cause the accidents they might become better when the working hours is one hour lesser. The workers themselves might use that extra time to play computer games, or see a thriller movie instead of taking a rest or having some sleep.

In short, the author made several assumptions to reach the conclusion. With each assumption going unwarranted, the whole conclusion will become invalid.