The following appeared in a memorandum from the business department of the Apogee Company:

“When the Apogee Company had all its operations in one location, it was more profitable than it is today. Therefore, the Apogee Company should close down its field offices and conduct all its operations from a single location. Such centralization would improve profitability by cutting costs and helping the company maintain better supervision of all employees.”

Discuss how well reasoned . . . etc.

The argument discussed in the memorandum from the business department of the Apogee Company claims that the company gains much more profits when it conducts the operations in a single place. Consequently, they suggest shutting down the company’s other workplaces and operating only in one location. The business department hypothesizes that such concentration in one place would decrease costs and increase the supervision of employees and would result in growth in the profitability of the company. However, the statement is unconvincing and has three main flaws.

First of all, demands of today’s customers have been more complex. All customers want to pay for the services and goods of the companies which are close to their houses or workplaces. Thus, in contrast with the author’s views, centralization in one place would cause the distrust and loss of interests of the customers. As a result, company would lose a certain amount of its market share and witness decrease in profits. The companies which are close to the customers can survive and gain more than their competitors in today’s business conditions.

Secondly, the argument claims that closing the field offices and having only one headquarter would help the company to cut the costs and optimize the profits. This is again a very weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any direct correlation between the number of offices and profits. There might be other reasons which affect the profitability. For instance, the decisions of the managers, motivation of employees etc. should also be analysed in detail before drawing any conclusion with regard to the field offices.

Finally, although the field offices of the company do not operate, the employees and managers should travel to the fields in order to meet the customers and to maintain their businesses there. Thus, the author states that centralization would cut the costs and increase the effectiveness of the supervision. However, the transportation costs of the employees and other related costs would rise. Consequently, the questions like “Do travel costs exceed the costs of maintaining field offices?”, “How would the managers supervise the employees during their travelling to the fields?” remain open to debate. Without convincing answers to these questions, one is left with the impression that the claim is more of an amateur thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above-mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts with respect to the correlation between decreasing costs and concentration in a single office. In order to assess the merits of a certain situation, it is essential to have full knowledge of all contributing factors. In this particular case, the aspects such as motivation of employees, decisions of managers, travel costs, supervision issues should be taken into account. Without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.