The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author suggests making drastic change from a rock-music station to a news-talk station because of a supposed decline in interest in music, increase in interest in talk radio, and a change in local age demographics. However, he fails to make a strong case for this change, instead presenting a disconnected series of purported facts that loosely relate to the situation at hand.

The author first states that listener numbers have declined, a statistic that is easily ascertainable. However, the remaining data is very vague. First, he concludes that interest in recorded music is down because local sales are down. His faulty assumption that local sales are indicative of interest undermines his ability to make a clear, logical decision. Sales could be down for many reasons. Perhaps the economy is down, or residents are discovering online sources for music or maybe local music stores have closed. A multitude of factors could contribute to the decline in sales, so this is not a valid reason to assume that listener interest in music is down. The author could make a better decision about adjustments to make to the radio station if he knew why sales are down. For example, if listeners prefer an online format, he could consider taking the radio station that direction. But without more specific information, the simple decline in recorded music sales does not provide enough information to act on.

Continuing to consider listener interest, the author states that talk radio is becoming more popular. However, he does not cite any survey data to back up this assertion. He is making an assumption as an attempt to buttress his reasoning for the decision to switch to talk radio. Additional evidence is needed regarding listener interest in order to determine what type of programming would make listeners of residents—new or old.

Building on that, the author desires to make listeners of new residents, who are retirees. If they are relatively new to the area, then any data gathered in recent years is not likely to include them. Additional economic and interest survey data should be gathered so that up to date information can be used to inform decisions about radio programming. The author seems to assume that retirees will enjoy talk radio, but this appears to be an assumption made based on his preconceived ideas rather than data-driven logic. No data is cited regarding their level of interest in talk radio. If his goal is the narrowly-focused idea of making the new retiree residents into listeners, he needs to gather data about their interest in talk radio that will support the directive to switch to talk radio.

Finally, the author also needs to consider the local market for radio and what other genres are available to residents. If the locale is already saturated with talk radio stations, they are unlikely to garner new listeners unless they can find a way to make the station stand out from the crowd. Another consideration is the availability of XM and online music and talk stations and programming. The on-demand aspect of online programming can be hard to compete with, and it is quite possible that this is the root of the decline in listeners. The author seems to make no consideration of the local market, other than local recorded music sales, and does not mention online music and talk availability whatsoever.

In short, the author needs to gather more data and observe it with an open mind before making a decision. A decline in listener numbers is certainly disconcerting, but taking the station into a completely new genre in hopes of gaining listeners is a drastic measure with such little evidence.