The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum the author made two conclusions. They believe in order to stop a decline in listener numbers, they must accommodate to the new residents and change the program to news and talk shows instead of rock music. Close scrutiny shows that both conclusions are based on unfounded arguments.

The author first claims that they must appeal to the new residents, who are mainly retired people, to allay the reduce in listener numbers. But the evidence the author needs here is the absolute number of people who moved in. If the growth of residents is only a small proportion of the total num...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.