The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The proposed memo argues that WWAC radio station should switch from its current rock-music format to a news and talk format to gain popularity by an increasing number of residents who have settled in the area after retirement. The manager should be given credit for his or her strategy to attract more listeners, but the claim is presented in a manner that does not fully support itself as it rests upon a few unwarranted assumptions. If the manager offered more information and clarity to adjust his or her claim as below, the argument could be further supported.

The primary flaw of the claim is that the manager attributes the decline in listener numbers to its current rock-music format. While the implication that rock music is not the most accepted genre by the residents may be indeed true, the correlation between the genre and the decline cannot be effectively made without further information. For example, the decline may be explained by the station's repetition of the same songs, which is likely to bore listeners. Alternatively, the residents might not simply be fond of the voice of the DJ. Without such information to prove that the residents do not use the radio station because of its focus on rock music, the argument remains rather unconvincing. The author should consider citing survey results or other data to clearly explain the correlation here.

Another point in this argument that needs to be viewed with caution is the statement that the decline in the local sales of recorded music means limited interest in music. The author determines without any justification that the local sales are the only indicator of people's interest in music. Critical readers may argue that online music is becoming increasingly popular instead of the traditional form of recorded music. As the local sales are clearly not the only factor that accounts for the decline, the manager should perhaps consider offering relevant information to prove the causal relationship between local sales and people's interest in music.

Lastly, building upon the assumptions above, the manager proceeds to conclude that a news and talk format will ensure popularity, claiming that it is increasingly popular in the area. Again, the information given here is not sufficient to draw this conclusion. There is no evidence to prove this is the case to begin with, and furthermore, just because the format is popular does not guarantee that the station will gain the predicted popularity. Perhaps, such a format has been already offered by the station's competitors and the vast majority are loyal to them. Moreover, without statistical data, we cannot determine how popular the format has been. Had the manager provided information, such as numerical data or surveys, demonstrating that the decision to introduce a news and talk format will likely result in an increase of listeners, the argument could have been further substantiated.

In sum, while the argument is not entirely invalid, and the manager should be lauded for his or her business proposal, the proposal lacks several key points that could substantially support the claim. If the manager provided the aforementioned information and elaborated on the details, his or her proposal could contribute a great deal to gaining a larger listener base.