The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation given in the memorandum vouches for limiting operating expenses by closing earlier and reducing stock by eliminating movies released more than five years ago in all Movies Galore stores. The conclusion is based on the premises that their store in downtown Marston was significantly able to decrease operating expenses by employing above recommendation. The argument seems convincing at first sight. However, on analysis, it is found to be rife with holes and assumptions. A stand can only be taken after careful examination of questions to be answered by the argument.

Is overall decline in profits evenly distributed among all ten stores or loss is attributed to few of the stores only? It could be that one particular store accounts to major part of loss. If it is the case, making general recommendation for all stores will may incur further decrease in profits. Even if loss is evenly distributed among all stores, is reducing operating expense the only way to increase profit share? It is very likely that we require custom solution on store level by analysing varieties of data points. In either case owner’s argument is weaken.

On other hand, we need to analyse if owner’s assumption that most visitors to store converts only because of special bargains, is true. There can be various reasons a customer is renting from Movies Galore and special bargain is small part of it. People visit the store because of wide range of collection, intuitive ambience etc. This way, there would be no harm in increasing rental price to increase profits.

Owner sets a precedent that store in downtown Marston was able to decrease operating expense by following mentioned recommendation. We don’t know anything else. Was the store profitable? What was the share of visitors looking for old movies and left the store without renting? How many customers visited after 6 PM only to know the store is close? What was the effect on total revenue of store? Answer to these questions play vital role in determining a conclusion.

Furthermore, it is also required to analyze demography of each region the store is present. As it is directly linked to the demography of people who will most likely visit. It may be that in a locality most people are of working category and they only get time in evening after their job hours. Whereas in other locality most of the population is retired, they would visit before 6 PM but they likely want to rent old movies.

In conclusion, owner needs to answer ample number of questions crucial to bolster his stand. He/She also needs to provide evidence on underlying assumptions before we can consider the recommendation as fruitful for Movies Galore as a movie-renting store.