The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores."In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are fam

The memorandum mentions that due to the stores decline in profits, it should adopt the method of reducing its operational cost rather than increase its price. Here the author does not mention the reason for their decline in profits and instead of analyzing that he wants to adopt new ways to cut down on cost. Relying on one stores positive outcome wont guarantee the same in all the other stores. A more detailed and systematic way must be adopted to decide on a particular action.

It mentions that raising the rental prices would not be a viable way to improve profits. In this fast growing world of economy it would not be wise to assume that a cost of a item 5 years ago would be the same as that 5 years later. The store is well known for its special bargains but increasing the cost of its rentals just by a little wont affect its reputation as it is already well known among the customers. This would help a little in sufficing or making up for lost profit.

Next it is mentioned that their other store in downtown was closed at 6 pm rather than 9 pm and similar method should be adopted in all the other stores. It is not right to assume the outcome based on a particular store downtown. It might happen that the store might lose out on important customers who would have come after 6 pm and that way they would further lose out on more profit.It is also mentioned that reducing or eliminating movies that are 5 years or old would save operational cost. This may have benefited them in the short run but by reducing the wide range of movies it may further lose out on more customers that would be interested in renting old movies. Thus adopting this method may cause more loss in the long run.

The author needs to make a more through and detailed analysis on how to proceed ahead and the statements stated by him are not sufficient to follow that particular course of action.