The following appeared in a memorandum from the president of Excello Food Markets.

"In 90 towns where Excello has food markets, natural-food stores specializing in organic food products — products containing no chemical preservatives and made with foods grown without pesticides — have opened nearby as competitors. Surveys of our own customers reveal a growing concern about foods grown using pesticides or preserved with chemicals. Recently our market in Sun City participated in a local food tasting fair, and 75 percent of the fair goers who visited the Excello booth requested free samples of organic fruit. Such evidence indicates that to increase our profits, we should begin to stock a full line of organic food products in all our markets."

The author of this analytical piece argues that to increase profits, Excello should begin to stock a full line of organic food products in all their markets. Though, there are several key factors that are missing with the help of which evaluation would become easy. However, on careful scrutiny, it shows the evidence provides little credible support to the argument of the author. Hence, the argument of the author is incomplete and unsubstantiate.

Firstly, it is mentioned in the contention that the survey of customers shows growing concern about foods grown using the pesticides or preserved with chemicals. This raises some questiones like What are the basis of those surveys? Where was the survey done? Was it done in the area where the people in the field of the organic food resided or any other place? What were the number of people this survey encountered with? Thus, this questions must be answered by the author so that, the proper assessment of the argument can be done.

Secondly, it is stated that in food tasting fair in the Sun City, 75 percent fair goers asked for the free samples of the organic food. This raises many querries like What was the exact number of the fair goers? Was the tasting fair related to the organic food or not? These questoins must be answered by the author to help assess the argument. Also, it might be possible that those 75 percent people might have confused Excello with the organic food stall. Thus, these querries must be cleared by the author.

Thirdly, it is assumed that as in the Sun City, there is increasing demand at all the 90 places, where there are Excello food markets. But, there are no statements to support this contention of the author. This, assumption is made out of the blue. Also, it is not mentioned clearly that Does the increasing demand of the organic food product is at all the places or only at Sun City? Therefore, there are further more questions that author needs to answer first.

To sum up, the argument of the author is unpersuasive. To bolster it further, the auhtor must provide clear and concrete evidence, perhaps by the way of detailed analysis of whether the rise in organic food demand is at how many places and what is the rise in the demand? Thus to better evaluate the survey, it would be necessary to provide more information on the rise in demands and places where the rise in demands occur.