The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Health Naturally, a small but expanding chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Our previous experience has been that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build one of our new stores in Plainsville, which clearly has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise equipment are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight-training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a program called Fitness for Life, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memorandum as stated requests to build a new store of Health Naturally in the Plainsville, seeing the report provided by the merchants of fitness stores of Plainsville. It further states that the local health club, which was initially closed, is now booming at an immense rate. These assertions however raises a plethora of questions and must be reached a sound conclusion after a deep scrutiny.

Initially, Health Naturally stores are lucrative in areas where people are health conscious. In Plainsville, people are considerate about their health as the merchants have reported and so this has resulted a boon int their business. But there may be the case, these health and fitness stores have been established a long time ago and in upcoming years they have conquered the sports market in Plainsville. Their business is highly set and they may be providing health goods and equipment not only to Palinsville, but also to the other towns and cities. Also there may be only one or two shops of health products in Plainsville and thus, people are forced to buy only from these stores when in need. Considering these cases, the report provided by the merchants is doubtful and invalid.

Secondly, the local store was closed five years ago, but now their business has been skyrocketed. The reasons for the same are not specified. Initially what was the age group of the members at this local health store? How many members are now present? Is it significant to consider or there has been only a small increase since last time the data was recorded or documented? There is no statistical data to verify the same. Also, it may be the case, the local health club was closed due to some renovation and now it possesses a large number of facilities comparative to one present last time. There may be also a special group of trainers and nutritionists which may be continuously inspecting the members while they workout and correct them if they go wrong to elicit full benefits of the exercises they indulge in. Also the highest age group of people may be between the gamut of 20-50, where youngsters are health freak and thus weight-training and aerobics programs are highly taken. At the end, the local store may have dropped their prices to considerable amount and due to this many people can now afford to undertake membership, thus increasing the membership in the store.

Moreover, the vice president of Health Naturally anticipates the children to be included in their membership if a store opens in Plainsville. However, it is not stated what are the liking of sports by children. There is no data that supports the fact that children have a penchant for swimming or basketball. What if the Health Naturally undertakes a health program which is opposite to the children liking? Also if the fee for children is respectably high comparative to local stores, then people may prefer to join local stores rather than the Health Naturally store. Also, if the store is too far from the local residing areas, there is a possibility of very few children joining the club.

To conclude, there are a number of questions that remain unanswered. Albeit, there may be some profit to Health Naturally store, but it cannot be expected it would lucrative as other Health Naturally stores. Thus the statement stated by the vice president of Health Naturally is flawed and dubious and ramifications may be different to the expected ones.