The following appeared as part of an article in a Dillton newspaper.

"In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city's flagging economy, Dillton's city council voted last year to lower the city's corporate tax rate by 15 percent; at the same time, the city began offering generous relocation grants to any company that would move to Dillton. Since these changes went into effect, two new factories have opened in Dillton. Although the two factories employ more than 1,000 people, the unemployment rate in Dillton remains unchanged. The only clear explanation for this is that the new factories are staffed with out-of-town workers rather than Dillton residents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the article which appeared in a Dillton newspaper asserts that despite the actions which were taken by local government to impove economy, the rate of unemployment remainds the same. The writer of the article assumes that only possible explanation of the situation is that two firms which have recently relocated their business to the city have hired personnel from out-of-town territory. The author's conclusion is supported by some evidences which we will study closely below.

First of all, we know that Dillton's city committee has lowered the corporate tax rate by 15 per cent and that new generous relocation grants are provided to firms which open their business in the city. Although these actions should have possitive effect on flagging economy, in reality, they may deteriorate the situation due to the fact that these incentives may be exonerating for local budget. If local government struggles to collect enough money to fulfill their duty the possibility exists that they fired some of the government staff in order to reduce expenditures. Therefore, the actions which should help the weak economy of Dillton may hurt it badly.

Furthermore, we were given information that the new firms have employed one thousand people. The probability exists that these people have already worked in the city and were lured by new companies. In this case, the rate of unemployment in the town will remain the same but the firms will be staffed with the local residents. Moreover, if the economic situation in the city has not improved, and we were told so, the rate of unemplyment should rise. However, the rate is stable. Whay is the reason? The most probably explanation is that companies hired local workers but the number of people employed is too small to reverse the dynamic.

Moreover, some factors which were not taken into consideration by the writer of the letter may impact on the rate of unemplyment. if the rumors about new policy have become widespread in neighboring regions and areas, residents of these territory may decide to move to Dillon in order to find new workplace. What is more does the state accept migrants from foriegn coutnries? Does it give shelter for victims of wars? in reality the city may accept thousands of new people who will increase rate of unemployment. In order to answer on this quesion we need to know the number of newcomers in Dillton.

In conclusion, even if the new firms are staffed with local residents, a number of reasons which were not taken into consideration by the writer of the arugment may impact on the rate of unemplyment.