The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The letter to the editor of a scientific journal is summarized below. The recent study on the eighteen rhesus monkey provides clues as to the effect of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. And the study showed that firstborn infant monkeys produce much more hormone cortisol than the younger siblings. Similarly the firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisols in stimulating situations. It also states that during pregnancy first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had several offspring. The author here has not considered other explanations which are possible from the study. It is explained below

The study showed that in stimulating situations, the firstborn infant monkeys produced up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol when compared with the younger siblings. The stimulating situation mentioned here is based on the scenario where the monkey encounters with an unfamiliar monkey. Here the reason behind producing hormone cortisol may be due to the fear factor due to the encounter of the unfamiliar monkey. And the reason behind producing twice as much as the younger sibling may be because the firstborn infant may be mature enough to understand the criticality of the situation when compared to the younger siblings. If the younger siblings are mature enough to understand the situation there are chances that they will also be producing an equal amount of hormone cortisol.

Also, the author has compared the above with the firstborn humans. The author states that the firstborn infant produces high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations. Here the simulations situation is based on the scenario where the firstborn human meets their parent after an absence. This is in total contrast to the scenario with the monkeys because in the case of monkeys the production of hormone cortisol is due to the fear factor whereas in the case of humans it is due to the happy feeling of meeting someone very close after an absence. The author, when stated about the production of cortisol by humans, had given a vague statement by not mentioning with whom the human is being compared. It could have been with the humans or the monkeys which is not mentioned clearly.

With various alternative explanations possible from the given statement, it is difficult to come to a conclusion.