The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

This portion of the letter to the editor of the scientific journal attempts to state the various similarities between monkeys and humans based on first-birth by providing several instances that are questionable in various aspects. There exist those who might agree that high level of similarity exists between the firstborn man and firstborn monkey. There may be people who dispute the fact that cortisol is a highly influential factor in child birth and those who affirm that. There can also exist those who blindly assert that cortisol is a prime component relating to human evolution based on child birth. However, the author of this letter presents a poorly reasoned argument built upon several questionable premises that tend to fall apart under high level of scrutiny. Based solely on the evidences at hand, the author's conclusion cannot be supported.

The primary concern with author's reasoning is his baseless assumptions. The author promulgated that firstborn human and firstborn monkey showed similar rise in cortisol than their younger siblings. Does this mean that all the biological aspects of human and monkey are identical ? This is a weak analogy that cannot be supported devoid of actual evidentiary facts. The author undermines his argument by failing to explain the tangible correlation between human and monkey that he presumes to exist.

In addition to relying on unfounded hypotheses, the author camouflages his lack of evidence by equivocating throughout his argument. The author claimed about the survey of eighteen rhesus monkey but does that mean that these monkeys reflect the characters of all the rhesus monkeys? Does the rhesus monkey reflect the biological aspects of all the genres of monkeys? The use of ambiguous language by the author makes the scope and validity of the argument obscure.

Further, the author derives many fallacious inferences that makes the premises upon which the argument is built debatable at the best. The author delineates that firstborn beings showed the rise in cortisol in situations involving a rise in stimuli, but is that the only reason for rise in cortisol levels? Does no other factor give rise to the levels of cortisol in them? Does the situation rise only the levels of cortisol? The assumptions that are formulated over logical fallacies contributes more towards the invalidity of the argument than the contrary.

Notwithstanding the dubious fallacies and unsubstantiated assumptions, the author's argument might have merits as well.

The author can conduct research over more monkeys and humans such that there exists a eclectic trait of all existing traits and by gathering the data relevant to that the reasoning can be strengthened.

Further research is required in this field to provide conclusive evidence to support the baseless premises over which rests the argument. If the author hopes to prove his problematic statement then more insight and research in this field is required to strengthen the premise. If no such legitimate evidence is provided, the argument is prone to be negated.