The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The explanation on the recent study, provided by the researcher to the editor of the sientific journal, sound compelling at the first glance but on the careful observation and rational analysis proves to be rife with unexpalined facts and holes.

The researcher claims to have caried out study on eighteen rehsus monkey and provides the explanation for the proposed theory, A very fundamental question that counters the proposed explanation is, "Are eighteen monkeys representative of the whole population?" The study is based on just eighteen monkey's with creates doubt on the explanation. For the study to claim to be sucessful eighteen monkey is not enough. It is possible that most of the monkeys exibit the charaterstic explained but the results cannot be generalised so that every rehsus monkey exibit the same characterstic.

The explanation is weak as it doesn't provide an exact % amount of monkey exhibiting the characterstic. In the explanation the reseacher compares his research finding with that of the case with human beings, though the analogy sound logical is inconsistent. Though humans and monkeys exibhit certain physiological similarities, it is obvious that analogy cannot always work. Monkeys and human face different challenges and social problems and applying analogy on rising level of cortisol between humans and monkey sound a bit irrational.

If teh explanation is able to provided proper reasoning backed with mathematical and statistical analysis