The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the letter, it is stated that, the writer has proposed a correlation between the birth order and individual’s level of stimulation. He has showed a few reasons based on which he has made the correlation. Before accepting his result, it is needed to know whether these reasons are flawless.

First of all, the prompt suggests that the recent study of eighteen monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual’s level of stimulation. Is a number, 18, statistically significant in conducting a scientific research? Moreover, how has this sample even been collected? Has it been followed how the statisticians recommend? The study might find a different result if the authority has collected more monkeys and in a statistically sound distribution. If it is true, the argument is weakened.

Second, the prompt suggests that Cortisol is the prime factor in increasing activity levels. Perhaps, it might not be the case. It is possible that Cortisol might be one of the factors, which increase the activity levels in the monkeys. Whether it alone is responsible to increase the activity level has not been proved. Hence, if the above discussion has merit, the argument will not hold water.

Finally, can we extrapolate the results obtained in a monkey’s body to a human’s body? A human is different from a monkey in many respects, both physically, and in functioning. Maybe what is true for a monkey is not true for a human. What results found due to Cortisol in a monkey’s body might be different form that resulted due to Cortisol in a human’s body. If this is not false, the argument will be found with many cracks.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed due to reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the above questions are answered, and the author proposes more evidence, then it will be possible to evaluate viability of extrapolating the results derived from these monkeys to the humans.