The following appeared as part of the petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group.

“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit.

For thousands of years, human beings have been living off the land. Up until the industrial revolution the impact of humans on the environment had been sustainable. Humans were able to coexisted with other species in a peaceful way. In the last hundred years, humans have begun developing and redesigning the surface of our planet in a way that negatively impacts the animals, the environment, and the planet as a whole. Environmental activists and construction companies have battled over the preservation of nature of some time, and the negative impacts it may have on our planet.

The resident states that the bird population will decrease as a result of the hotel being built. Conversely, the company states that the building will be erected on a small portion of the land that would minimally affect the bird ecosystem. The residents did not have any evidence to support their claim of the decreasing bird population, they simply state their opinion that the building will lead to the sanctuary's destruction. It can't simply be stated that the hotel would lead to the destruction of the bird population without extensive research on the area and the local birds themselves.

Another negative impact claimed by the residents is the tourism traffic that the birds bring. Again, this brings the argument back to the fallacy that the hotel would bring destruction to the sanctuary. With the hotel being on the Wildlife Preserve the hotel may actually bring more tourism and give those tourists a place to stay and observe the wildlife up close. The residents of the community fail to analyze the benefits of the hotel stating, "...there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary."

The company claims that their hotel will preserve the area, but the residents offer no comments or explanations on how the company plans to do those things. Without this information, a decision can not be made about protecting the wildlife within the preserve. The company's side must be understood and evaluated by the general population before signing a petition, a rash decision against the hotel.

Wildlife preservation in important to the planet and ecosystems everywhere. Biodiversity ensures a rich community of thriving wildlife that can be easily destroyed by meddling humans. The 300 bird species that the residents are concerned about deserve protection, and with communication and cooperation between the two groups a decision can be made that satisfies the needs of the wildlife preserve and encourages economic growth within the Youngtown community.